UNTILL THE RAIN CAME written & performed by SCOTT UTLEY

The raven caws three times and then the rain falls. Heaven’s sky tears down with a beautiful viciousness. Above my head I study the layers of silt and dust on the avocado leaves. I think this is the accumulated detritus of this past summer’s volcanic eruption. 

It was a summer deadened by the horror of wars scattered without rhyme or reason upon this pristine cobalt orb we call home, a summer of threats against one nation or another by one nation or another, a summer of soccer moms down on hope but high on crank cruising Meth Street USA, a summer where blacks are living more and more in their own world while whites are living more and more in theirs and they never kiss anymore.

It was a summer of polar bears without homes, coyotes lying motionless on the side of the road, and giant blue whales washing up lifeless upon California’s shores. I confess, I confess, I confess, my spine had almost fused with futility… until the rain came.

uuuu 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Johanna says:

    This is brilliant-the language is exquisite!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. SCOTT UTLEY says:

      Oh, Johanna, thank you so much. I know how much you know. I mean, I you know what words are all about & how they work their magic, so this comment from you is wonderful for me. Thank you, I love you. Always have, always will.

      Like

  2. Uncle Tree says:

    How cool to do the voice thing! 🙂 I wish to do that someday!

    Like

  3. georgeforfun says:

    Reblogged this on georgeforfun.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. NUCLEARMIND says:

      Thank you once again & so very much for your kindness. XXXOOOXXXSCO

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

